April Spa Visit – Aqua Sana Center Parcs

So, I’m still catching up on my #12monthsofspa posts with today’s being from April (I can’t believe how behind I am) when I went to Center Parcs for a fantastic family holiday. As part of our holiday the ladies went for a spa session while the men did manly things like clean up after breakfast and check out the ‘Jardin de Sports’.

If you haven’t been to Center Parcs before, the surroundings are unbelievably beautiful with scenic forest views all around you. Aqua Sana is set away from the iconic swimming dome, which I like as it made the spa a relaxing environment and a step away from day to day life (and lots of children). As you can see from the picture the exterior takes its inspiration from the old roman baths, while the interior is more contemporary with every modern spa facility you can imagine.

AQUA SANA 1

I was so excited about the experience and spaaahhing with the lovely ladies in my family. We had all opted for the three hour session, each with a treatment.There were so many different types of thermal experiences we didn’t know where to start. I wish there was an opportunity for the staff to talk us through what rooms would be more beneficial for the type of results we wanted.

The waterbed area was amazing and I was in LOVE, although it could do with being more private as the atmosphere got louder as more guests arrived and used the rooms next to it. I spent at least one hour laying on the waterbed reading and relaxing, until a couple decided to get a bit too cosy and cuddled up on the bed next to me! There’s a time and a place people!

AQUA SANA 2

One of the bug bears that we all noticed was that the gowns didn’t have pockets, not a biggy but meant that we had to carry our books, hair grips and everything else a lady needs. The other was that the spa held an event for guests to try products and have a DIY mini facial. Great idea, but distracting and loud for the other guests who were trying to switch off.

I opted for a Decleor Madagascan Ritual which used a wooden tool like a mini rolling pin to massage the body after a full body exfoliation. My therapist was lovely and friendly although I didn’t feel that the treatment was particularly personal to me. A couple of us we were disappointed by our experienced and thought that the descriptions could be better for the more unique treatments so as to know what to expect and choose correctly. That said, the treatment carried out was a good standard and the Decleor products smelt incredible.

I’d love to visit the spa again and try the Twilight experience including a meal at the Zilli cafe combining two of my favourite things, yummy food and relaxing spa time. Knowing what I know now I would also choose a different treatment but most definitely head on over to the waterbeds for some serious relaxation. Information and prices for spa treatments, days and breaks can be found on the Aqua Sana website here.

AQUA SANA 3

Leave a Reply

